Half pants full pants by Anand Suspi

7fc3d-halfpantsI received Half pants full pants by Anand Suspi from Paperboat with a cute little note which said that they are proud to introduce the ‘celebration as their first ever title in the world of books.

The Blurb:

Half Pants Full Pants is a sort of childhood autobiography set in Shimoga of the 70s and 80s. Given the era and milieu that he grew up in, it carries a flavor similar to that of Malgudi Days. All the characters in the book are real and most of them are still in Shimoga, of course now in their mid-40s. Quite a few are from prominent families and are now active and important members of Shimoga. The book vividly captures the real childhood adventures of this generation of people in Shimoga. It’s a glorious reminiscence as well as a tribute to this wonderful town.

My take:

Half Pants Full Pants is a collection of 38 stories set in the town of Shimoga in Karnataka of childhood by Anand Suspi, written in simple English, which can be easily understood by a child of class five or six. The author has divided the book into three parts: half pant tales from Shimoga (his childhood), full pant tales from Shimoga (his teenage) and Bonus material. The book has a foreword by R.Balki who concluded the same with “for those who have stopped reading books, I just feel sorry. They have just lost the chance to laugh at themselves”.

The book starts with a short introduction of Shimoga and then the stories begin. His story of five paise chapatti brought me back to my childhood when we also thought that putting a coin on the railway track converted it into a magnet. I shall not get into the other stories in the book because they would spoil the suspense of reading the book. All I can say is that the author was naughty, imaginative and had a sense of self respect even as a child.

Written in a simple language, the easy narration gives a good pace to the book. I read the stories one at a time and savoured them all. There were a few incidents that happened with me too and I could relate with most of the stories and even went back to my childhood memories. Everyone who grew up in the seventies and eighties would enjoy the book most. This book is one which I would want my parents, my children and even my husband to read.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of the book from the publisher in return for my honest review. I have NOT received any monetary compensation for the same.

 

 

Leave a Reply

