Interview with the author: M.V.Kasi

MV Kasi lives in Hyderabad, India with her husband and son.
 By day, she works for a 60627-mv2bkasisoftware company. By night, she gives in to her fascination to explore the human psychology and the various facets of life in her writing. She has particular fascination with successful people who are not considered ‘normal’ by society’s standards.

Her love for reading has led her to start writing on her own. She likes to add depth to her characters and explore their psychological motivations. Due to the nature of topics and plots, she does not shy away from writing about sexuality or violence. Despite covering some heavy topics, she likes to infuse humor into her writing.

Thank you, Manya for this interview.

You have a regular day job and a more difficult night job. How do you manage both working and writing?

Surprisingly, I don’t find it that difficult to write. Because I’m one of those people who are compulsive planners. 🙂 I have always been that way since my childhood. I always plan ahead for the entire week, setting my other priorities first, and then put away a few hours to do what I enjoy as one of my hobbies—writing.

During the day, I use my free moments to think about the plot, or make notes for my story, or research about something I’m currently writing. And during the weeknights, since I don’t watch much television, I usually have about three hours to spare. I use that time to write.

But no matter what, I write only when I enjoy doing it. And if my mind is not on writing, in spite of all my planning, I do something else.

How did you think of writing books which deal with human psychology?

I think every book deals with human psychology one way or the other. They only vary in level of depths they are explored.

I have always been fascinated by stories where seemingly normal people do some extraordinary things. What made them do that? Why did they choose to do that? Those kinds of questions made me go through several articles to dig deeper into the human psyche.

In two of my books, I’ve written about abuse survivors. One of them had suffered domestic violence and the other of child sexual abuse. And since the survivors’ behavioral patterns are not very obvious, I had to do a lot of research. After my research, I could finally understand their choices and also empathize with them. But if I hadn’t known what I had learnt from the research, I would have judged them along with most other people. That very fact inspired me to put out stories about people who are judged without being given a proper chance to explain.

Is it a difficult genre to write?

As a broader definition of genre, my stories fall under Contemporary Romance. But as a niche, I had unknowingly chosen to write about the underdogs of our society. Bullies, the oppressed, addicts, workaholics, etc. It is challenging to write about them. Because not everyone wants to read about such people or feel that they can’t be redeemed. So as a writer, I need to weave a convincing story to get the readers to understand them, and then actively cheer for them to find their happily ever after.

Have you ever suffered from writer’s block?

Luckily, I haven’t so far. I’m relatively new, and my mind keeps churning out stories and plots faster than I can actually type them. 🙂 And another possible reason might be because I don’t consider myself a writer. I know I don’t have to write. I write because I want to and I absolutely love doing it. I treat it as my hobby. A hobby that I’m currently obsessed with. I know that once I begin to treat it as my job, I might not enjoy doing it as much.

What kinds of books do you read? Who is your favourite author and what is your favourite genre? Has any author influenced your writing?

I mostly read fiction. And in fiction I prefer romance genre that runs through sub genres such as historical, paranormal, sci fi, fantasy, contemporary and thrillers, etc. I can’t name just one author as my favorite because I’m a huge fan of many.

My first introduction to adult fiction was through a book by Sidney Sheldon called If Tomorrow Comes. And my first romance novel was Kingdom of Dreams by Judith McNaught. Since then, I have been an avid reader. These days I read a lot of books written by several indie authors who write amazing stories that are sometimes mind boggling and awe inspiring.

My writing has been inspired by what I liked about the thousands of books I’ve read over the years. But having said that, most of my friends and family members who’ve read my books, have told me that they recognize my voice in my stories. Which thankfully means that I’m staying true to my original self without trying to emulate someone else.

What is the next project that you are working on? When is the next book scheduled for release?

I’m currently working on a book titled Ruthless. It is the second part of the series Soulless. Ruthless provides more insight and the back-story to the lead characters of Soulless, along with a hopefully satisfactory conclusion.

Ruthless is currently scheduled for release in early 2017.

Any word of wisdom for aspiring authors?

I’m not established enough to give out advices. 🙂 But if helps, then I would like to say—don’t be afraid to be true to your heart. If you are passionate about writing something that is not the norm or within the guidelines, you should still go ahead. Always test your boundaries, experiment with new ideas while also being open-minded enough to learn from your mistakes.

 

Social media links of MV Kasi for readers to follow:4582c-11_8_soulless

Author Page URL: http://www.amazon.com/author/mvkasi

Facebook Profile: https://www.facebook.com/mvkasi

Goodreads profile: https://www.goodreads.com/mvkasi

Twitter: author_mvkasi

 

Leave a Reply

