He fixed the match, She fixed him by Shikha

51wxNjhdnlL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_There are some books you want to read because of the story, some because of the attractive cover, some because they have been written by a best selling author and some because they have been talked about. But, Shikha’s debut book, He fixed the match she fixed him is a book that does not fall into any of these categories, at least for me. I bought this book long back because I thought that the story of Shreya Kohli and Kunal Kharbanda would be a story where the protagonists had an arranged marriage and would reconcile later, what I was not expecting was skeletons coming out of the closet every now and then and the twists and turns.

The blurb:

Shreya – I’m a highly qualified Delhi girl earning an enviable salary. My parents are having a tough time finding a suitable groom for me. However, recently they have a proposal from this very interesting guy from Mumbai. I almost get mesmerised when he starts talking to me. I think I like him very much.

Kunal – I’m owner of a textile company in Mumbai. My Mom wants me to get married. Again. She has recently suggested a suitable girl from Delhi. What my Mom doesn’t know is that I’ve met Shreya before once in my life and I’ve been looking for her ever since. I have a vendetta to settle.

The author takes you along on a journey via roads of revenge, agony, remorse, attraction, titillation, tantalisation and romance. Do Shreya and Kunal make it, or do they fall prey to their past?

The story:

Shreya holds degrees from SRCC, Delhi and IIM, Lucknow and has a highly paying job in Delhi. She lives with her parents, Mahesh and Sandhya and her brother, Madhav and his wife, Aastha. He father had recently retired and loves to surf happytrips.com and so does her brother. But, her family also wants to see her happily married. And everytime, a prospective groom’s family comes to know of her salary, they withdraw. So her parents post her profile on Bharatmatrimony.com, with the hope that something may come their way, And it does in the way of Mumbai calling Delhi.

Anuradha Kharbanda loves to go through the Bharatmatrimony.com site everyday and during one such visit, she comes across Shreya’s profile, which she shows to her son, Kunal, and he grabs the opportunity with open arms. The mother is elated because the son who was averse to getting married wants to get married to this girl with beautiful eyes. So she calls up Delhi and sets the ball rolling.

Shreya’s mother’s gut feeling that something is not right but the Kohli family overrules it saying that Shreya would not get a better match and that Shreya and Kunal should take a call as both the boy and the girl have a past. After discussions, a long distance courtship starts over phonecalls and they get married within a month’s time. Shreya gets the shock of her life on the wedding night and realises that Kunal had planned everything to get even with her. And thus starts the love hate relationship between the two of them. Shreya tries to maintain a normal front in front of everyone because she does not want to let anyone get upset.

Who wins the battle at the end is worth reading.

My take:

It is a 284 page book written with a lot of descriptions which somehow add to the flavour of the book. The characters are very realistic and have been developed well. Though the story is simple, the storyline is different making it very interesting. The language and flow are good and the story moves at a good pace. I did not feel like keeping the book down when I was forced to do so last night and completed it first thing in the morning today. The scenes are funny at times and the author has described the emotions of both the characters. The story has everything, drama, romance, revenge, families, arranged marriage, mothers-in-law making it interesting.

Book Source: Bought

Publisher: Vitasta

Leave a Reply

