Interview with Adite Banerjie

3c001-adite2bbanerjie2bclose2bup2biAdite Banerjie discovered Mills & Boon romances and their amazing assortment of drool-worthy TDH heroes in her teens. Around the same time she fell in love with song-and-dance Bollywood romances. Growing up in a home with a filmmaker dad who worked in the world’s largest film industry (yes, Bollywood!) and a voracious reader for a mom, it was inevitable that she would come to love both films and books. During her exciting and fulfilling career as a business journalist, she found the time to indulge her passion for both Bollywood romances and M&Bs. But after years of reporting and writing about the real world, she chose to return to her love for fiction and turned screenwriter. She turned Harlequin author after winning the 2012 Passions Aspiring Authors Contest. Her debut novel was released in September 2013. Her second novel  “Trouble Has a New Name” was released by Harlequin in July 2014. Thank you, Adite for sparing the time for this interview and congratulations on the International launch of your debut novel.

 

At the outset, please tell the readers something about yourself?

I was a business journalist for many years. Then I got into content writing; worked on projects for research agencies and social development organisations before getting into fiction writing. I also write screenplays for documentaries and feature films.

From a business journalist to an author, how did this transformation come about?

My father was in the film industry and I have always been interested in writing screenplays. However, writing Mills & Boons had not crossed my mind until I saw an ad for the Aspiring Authors Contest. My journey as an author started when I won the contest.

And now a screenwriter, are you working on something now?

I have many ideas for scripts and plenty of half-written ones in my computer. Right now, as I have a contract with Harlequin to write two more books, I’m focusing on those. But you never know when opportunity knocks, and should there be a chance to write a screenplay, I’ll definitely grab it!

What is more difficult, writing romances or scripts?

They are different types of writing and both have their own sets of challenges.

How do you draw inspiration to write?                    

I draw inspiration from everyday stories in the papers, magazines, the internet. Sometimes some image may trigger off a thought and I go down the ‘what if?’ track.

The covers of both the editions of your book are very nice, did you have a say in designing them?

The covers are designed by the Harlequin team’s talented designers and I have been fortunate to get such beautiful covers for both editions of my first book and my new book, Trouble Has a New Name.

How does it feel to be an international writer?

It’s quite surreal and I still haven’t quite got used to the fact that my book is now available internationally.

You are a voracious reader, did this is some way help in writing books?

Earlier, I used to read only to enjoy the story. But ever since I have turned an author myself, I have become very conscious about how different authors structure their stories, how they use point-of-view and other finer points. I do think reading different genres has helped me in my writing.

What kind of books do you read? Who is your favourite author?

I read across all genres. I enjoy romances as well as thrillers, historical novels and non-fiction. My favourite author is Amitava Ghosh.

Has any author influenced your writing?

Amitava Ghosh’s writing is always an inspiration. I also admire many romance authors including Sarah Morgan, Kate Hewitt, Nicola Marsh, Sophie Kinsella and many others.

Trouble has a new name has just been released and has been a stupendous success. How do you feel?

I don’t know about ‘stupendous success’ but I am ovewhelmed at the stupendous response the book has got from readers and reviewers. It’s  a fantastic feeling and I’m loving every moment of it.

What are the new projects in the pipeline?

Am writing a romantic-thriller for Harlequin India which is tentatively titled “No Safe Zone”. Hopefully, it should be out sometime mid- next year. Fingers crossed! 🙂

Any words of wisdom for aspiring authors?

Believe in yourself and keep working on your craft.

Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts with your readers.

Thanks for hosting me on your blog, Arti.

 

Social Media links of Adite Banerjie for people to find/follow/like:

website: http://aditebanerjie.com

facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AditeBanerjieWriter

twitter: @aditehttp://twitter.com/F2tweet

google+: adite99

 

Book Links for Trouble has a new name

Flipkart.com: http://www.flipkart.com/trouble-has-new-name/p/itmdx9v2nfbruhsn?pid=9789351065135&otracker=from-search&srno=t_1&query=trouble+has+a+new+name&ref=22f9dc86-9d63-44ea-ac39-84c0bb2a41b2

Harlequin India: http://www.hqnindia.com/title/trouble-has-a-new-name                       fa1a7-thebookclub-logo                      17780-troublehasanew2bname

 

 

One thought on “Interview with Adite Banerjie

  1. “I draw inspiration from everyday stories in the papers, magazines, the internet. Sometimes some image may trigger off a thought and I go down the ‘what if?’ track.” I can so relate to this one. Excellent Q&A Arti & Adite. Thoroughly enjoyed reading it 🙂

Leave a Reply

