Author Interview Series: Interview 10: Tanu Jain

photoTanu Jain has read countless Mills & Boon novels over the years (she started in class 8th). She is already an author of two Indian Mills and Boon, His Captive Indian princess, published in 2013 and His Runaway Royal bride in 2014 by Harlequin India. She has a doctorate in English literature and occasionally teaches English language and literature. Her interests are wide-ranging and include spirituality and reading tarot cards and counseling people. The past couple of years have also ignited an interest in religious scriptures, and Tanu has published a book of short stories for children. She has a hectically busy schedule but plays badminton religiously with a close-knit group of girlfriends, which keeps her mentally and physically fit. She currently lives in Gwalior, India, with her family.

Thank you, Tanu, for giving me an opportunity to interview you.

 

At the outset, could you please tell the readers a bit about yourself?

The above introduction is very comprehensive. I cannot think of anything else to add except that I cannot imagine my life without reading and writing!

You are a doctorate in English Literature. Did this in some way help in your writing?

It sure has!  A degree in Eng Lit has helped immensely. It not only provided an exposure to world literature but also developed the faculties of interpretation, critical analysis and deconstructing which come in handy while writing. Though I’m not sure how my college professors would react if they came to know that after all the effort they put in, teaching us from the feminist point of view, I have ended up writing romances!

Two books in two years, how does it feel to be an Indian Mills and Boon author?

It feels great! Like the culmination of a lifelong dream.

The covers of both the books are very nice? How much say did you have while designing the covers?

Thanks for appreciating the covers. But I can claim no credit for either! It is the wonderful work of the editors at Mills and Boon.

I know it is difficult for an author to choose between her books, but which of these, is closer to your heart?

That is difficult to say but I guess I feel I have evolved a bit more with HRRB.

Who is your favourite character among Veer, Meethi, Gauri and Vikram?

I find shades of myself in Meethi – in the sense of the dilemmas she faced but again it is difficult to choose between the four.

How do you take time out of your busy schedule to write a book?

Life’s schedule is maniacal but I guess I write because I truly feel alive and worthwhile only when I thump away for at least a couple of hours at my laptop.

“On life’s vast ocean diversely we sail,

Reason the card but passion the gale.”

You read a lot. Can anyone who is a reader write books?

Absolutely! Being a voracious reader made me a better writer. I knew the plots that appealed to me, the characters that touched me, the pace that I wanted and the language that I wanted to use.

What book are you currently reading?

I am behind my reading schedule but currently I have in my bookshelf ‘One Hundred Years Of Solitude’ and I am looking forward to J.K.Rowling’s and Adite Banerjie’s next.

When you pick up books to read, what is your favourite genre?

Romance undoubtedly! But I also love mythology and the current modern mythological fiction.

Who is your favourite author? Any author who has influenced your writing?

There are many writers that I admire – Jane Austen, Georgette Heyer, J.K.Rowling, Ayn Rand to name a few and of course Sarah Morgan, Margaret Way, Penny Jordan, Lynne Graham, Julia James and so many other romance writers. Consciously or unconsciously they all have been an influence.

What is the next project that you are working on? When is the next book scheduled for release?

The next project is also a romance but it will take awhile!

Any words of wisdom for aspiring authors?

All you fellow writers, some words of warning – when stories beg to be told and characters clamour to come out, not paying heed to them can be detrimental to one’s health! So, gird your loins and follow your dream. All the best!

 

Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts with your readers.

Thank you for hosting me!

 

Social Media links of Tanu Jain for reader to find/follow/like:

facebookhttp://www.facebook.com/tanu.jain0001

blog:  tanu2013.wordpress.com

email : tanurja@yahoo.com

Slide1

If you are interested in Tanu Jain’s Books, here are the links:

http://www.flipkart.com/author/tanu-jain

http://www.amazon.in/dp/9351064611

http://www.hqnindia.com/title/his-runaway-royal-bride

 

Next in Author Interview Series: Interview 11: Adite Banerjie on 21st July 2014

Leave a Reply

