Author Interview Series: Interview 3: Reet Singh

Dear readers,

Let me introduce Reet Singh today. She is a doctor, wife, mother, an avid romantic, and now a romance writer.  She devours romantic fiction, watches romcoms, does creative things with wool and a crochet hook, plays Scrabble, and loves putting together her ‘world-famous’ one-pot meals. Writing about love and happy endings feeds her romantic soul; hearing from her readers in the form of reviews of her books thrills her.

While her children were growing up, she read to them from story books, and told them tales concocted from thin air. That experience set into motion her desire to write – her first attempt is being prepared for Kindle Direct Publishing, while her second one, ‘The Zaken Takeover’, co-authored with her son, is available already on Amazon, for Kindle. She ventured into romance writing after winning the Passions Contest in 2013 (run by Harlequin® India). Her first romance title, published by Harlequin® India, is ‘Scorched by his fire’; this is available as both ebook and in print form.

Thank you very much, Reet for taking time out of your busy schedule, and answering my questions.

At the outset, Reet, please tell us a little about yourself.

Arti, I am so happy to be here. Thank you for hosting me.

I am this crazy multi-tasker, who is happiest when she is most frenetic. I am passionate about things, impulsive, impatient, easily distracted, and eternally optimistic. I like most people, but I love being alone; I hate partying, preferring to slouch about at home.

How did you think of writing a book? Who inspired you?

My mother and my children! My mom read to me and my sisters, every day, till we learned to read, and I continued with the tradition when I had children. But then one day I stopped reading, and instead, started making up my own stories for them. Thus, as you mentioned, my first book was a book for children.

You are a doctor. How do you manage to find time to write?

I am working in an area that caters to the poorer, less privileged, section of society, which means that I am pretty much inundated with work from 9 to 5. After that, since my children are away in college, I come home to a few chores, catch up with a bit of my academic work, and then – because I owe myself some ‘me’ time – I do something for me. Writing is my newest love, and I’m learning that it can be very time consuming, especially as deadlines approach. Still, so far I am loving it!

What were the challenges faced while writing the book?

Most of my challenges were before I won the Passions Contest – like, how to interest a publisher in my manuscript.

Thereafter, my big worry was how I would ever manage the 50,000 words expected of me. Making time for dedicated writing was another difficulty. As far as plot, and what twist and turn to introduce next in the story, was concerned, I made use of my daily commute to figure that out. I had great guidance from Laurie Johnson, my Harlequin editor, so mostly it was a fantastic experience.

The setting of your book is beautiful Mauritius. How did you decide on it?

That was serendipity. I had just returned from a work-related trip to the lovely Island when Passions was announced, and one of the stipulations was that the story should be based in an exotic locale. Mauritius was the perfect choice!

The cover of your book is very different from a usual Mills & Boon, did you have a say while designing the cover?

Oh yes! Like I said, both the UK and Indian editors, the fabulous duo of Laurie Johnson and Amrita Chowdhury, generously allowed me to describe the kind of cover that I thought would complement the story of Mita and Tanay. Then, I was sent a selection, and I chose what I imagined was the perfect fit.

Which book are you currently reading?

Oh dear! I wish I was currently reading. My work-in-progress, book two for Harlequin® India, is taking up all my time and the deadline is so close, I can feel its hot, hungry breath on the back of my neck! If it counts for anything, I finished Aarti V Raman’s ‘Kingdom Come’ a week ago, but won’t be picking up another read until I submit the first draft of book two.

Who is your favourite author? Has any influenced your writing?

I absolutely adore PG Wodehouse. Also, I love Lucy Walker, and Georgette Heyer. I would be very surprised if they haven’t all influenced my writing. Maybe sentence construction, or a comic scene, I cannot say exactly how, but I admit that it is a possibility.

What is the next project that you are working on? When is the next book scheduled for release?

I’m writing book two for Harlequin® India. For now I have tentatively called it ‘One Memorable Night in His Bed’. It is the story of two young doctors, Simi and Rudy, who meet in New York and are weighed down by the devils of their past. The story takes them to India where they must come to terms with their past in order to accept and celebrate their feelings for each other. It is due for release sometime later this year.

Any words of wisdom for aspiring authors?

Read, read, read, and write, write, write. Reading what other people write, inspires and educates on what to do and what not to do with your own writing. You will find that your writing evolves with time. Keep writing and keep surprising yourself.

Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts with your readers.

 

Social Media links of Reet Singh for readers to find/follow/like:

websitereetsingh.in

facebook: https://www.facebook.com/reet.singh.5458

 twitter: @AuthorReet

Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Reet-Singh/e/B00I6J47LK/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_2

Goodreads author page: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7794919.Reet_Singh

New Microsoft PowerPoint Presentation

If you are interested in Reet Singh’s Books, here are the links:

Buying links for Scorched by his fire:

Kindle edition is available from
1. Amazon India: http://www.amazon.in/Scorched-Mills-Indian-Author-Collection-ebook/dp/B00KM0ZQ7K/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1402584319&sr=1-3&keywords=reet+singh

2. Amazon.com: http://www.amazon.com/Scorched-Mills-Indian-Author-Collection-ebook/dp/B00KM0ZQ7K/ref=la_B00I6J47LK_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1402585282&sr=1-1

3. Mills and Boon UK: http://www.millsandboon.co.uk/scorched-by-his-fire

The print book is available from:
1. Amazon.in: http://www.amazon.in/Scorched-Fire-Mills-Indian-Author/dp/9351063747/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1402584319&sr=1-1&keywords=reet+singh

2. Flipkart: http://www.flipkart.com/scorched-his-fire/p/itmdsuwpbqrux8az?pid=9789351063742&otracker=from-search&srno=t_2&query=reet+singh&ref=4dfc8996-7477-4557-9135-1f25108d80a0

3. Infibeam: http://www.infibeam.com/Books/scorched-fire-reet-singh/9789351063742.html?utm_term=reet+singh_1_1

4. Crossword: http://www.crossword.in/books/scorched-fire/p-books-9789351063742.html

Buying links for The ZAken takeover:http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00HZGI5DG

 

Next in Author Interview Series: Interview 4: Falguni Kothari on 7th July 2014

2 thoughts on “Author Interview Series: Interview 3: Reet Singh

  1. One more feather in your cap Arti. Good interview well presented 🙂
    Congrats Reet! I loved your book SCORCHED BY HIS FIRE. Looking forward to the next one. It’s a great wonder that you juggle two careers. Kudos!

Leave a Reply

