Impulse by Reekrit Serai

I received an email from Radhika Panickar of Rumourbooks Imageasking me to review the book ‘Impulse by Reekrit Serai’. She had sent me a link to the book and when opened, it read something like, Impulse is a collection of contemporary and powerful short stories. The book comprises of stories set in the modern-day India. And I replied in affirmative that I would like to read the book.

The book is a collection of eighteen short stories and each of these stories reflects a human emotion and by the time I finished the book, I took three sittings to finish it because many stories together were a little too heavy for me.

The author has reflected on paternal love, childhood love that keeps growing, infatuations, cost that a young man pays for happiness, little deeds that make people happy, true friendship that saves a life, everlasting love and how a mother tells a daughter to free herself of the shackles of her mind. There is a story on professional rivalry, a story about hasty actions, a story about the inner vices, stories on communal violence and on sacrificing for love.

The stories are well written and convey a deeper meaning. Some of them ended abruptly leaving me wanting more and some of them shocked me. The book made me cry and it made me laugh.

The writing style is simple but editing needs to be a little better.

Overall, a nice book.

Book Source: Review copy from the publisher

Publisher: Rumour Books India

Leave a Reply

